Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (3) - TV Shows (1) - Books (2)

The Call Of The Wild review

Posted : 3 years, 8 months ago on 23 February 2014 04:49 (A review of The Call Of The Wild)

A charming and simple book but again I'm left with a feeling of anti-climax. I couldn't find any moment where I was extremely overjoyed or excited yet the book does explore the link of man-beast-beast in the bare wild where morals are circumstantial and survival is salient. Additionally quite skilfully it links the savagery of animal in the way man treats said animals thus making him equally as savage and loyal as the animal.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit review

Posted : 3 years, 8 months ago on 23 February 2014 04:48 (A review of Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit)

This book was a struggle for me. The constantly trying to decipher the language written in a very British manner of literature devalued the experience. Most books I've read are coming of age ones but this is my least favorite so far;but I can and do empathize with and cheer on the main character Jeanette as she struggles with conflicts of family, community and herself. The fairy-tale stream of consciousness cut offs or sections did not relate to the main story and if so only in a bleak manner. The book is semi-autobiographical so as with real life I would not expect much hyperbolic excitement . Near to the end I was straining to finish and then ironically I'm left falling over an abyss with a blunt "well that's it" kind of ending. I wonder if that what death feels like. Well anyway I've finished my first book and hope read about 25 or more. The summer will be my high point I guess.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Welcome to the NHK

Posted : 4 years ago on 18 October 2013 03:29 (A review of Welcome to the NHK)

Welcome to the NHK has remained plastered in my head for several months now which is always the sign of a great or terrible experience. Welcome to the NHK slaps the viewer in the face with a harsh piece of realism which depicts the theory of rationalism as irrational to the social human being. In the Industrial World and more specifically Japan so much pressure is placed on young people to achieve and continue the culture of conservatism and economic growth that those who fail or can't rise to the astronomical standards are disregarded and condemned to the menial faucets of society. Sato throughout the series holds the place of a companion, you and him suffer together, share the same food and cigarettes, cramped in the same space, the necessity of financially supportive parents. Hikikomori. As Sato met Misaki for the first time, I couldn't help but feel betrayed by him I wanted him to suffer with me not to go out or have a chance at a "real" life with a girl nonetheless;however as he got that crappy job or was pursuing his career in "gal games" I could not help but feel delight for our lonely warrior who showed me that even ashes one day becomes top soil.Welcome to the NHK is top draw dull sadness and a true slice of life. 10/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Eraserhead review

Posted : 4 years, 1 month ago on 27 August 2013 04:09 (A review of Eraserhead)

Well we seem to have a split jury on this one. Personally this film was one of the most boring experiences I've ever had watching a movie.From the beginning I was waiting for it to end, I did not come in with any preconceived notions either, this was my first David Lynch movie and it was a disappointment. The Lead actor Henry Spencer was bland but the Lady in the Radiator was quite disturbing. The sound editing of industrial noise really set the mood for one of the most bizarre films ever created. However, that is no excuse for the lack of anything in the film, its obvious this was Lynch's baby, and he didn't give a foot of what anyone one else might find interesting or intriguing...that alien baby was beyond weird.Words to describe this film: Threadbare,tiresome,monotonous,repugnant and outlandish.Maybe give it another turn on the merry-go-round...I have to admit Lynch launches you into this world of fear, boredom, sex and grinding monotony, where existence is singular. I've never not connected and connected with a movie so much before. 8/10 or 1/10?


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Year One review

Posted : 4 years, 1 month ago on 27 August 2013 03:51 (A review of Year One)

Watched it, rejected it but still watched it. Year One is one of those unfunny comedies, which is common, when writers and actors are trying too hard to be hilarious. If your looking for a movie where no attention or emotional attachment is needed. You can read a book and listen to the sweet background actions of Zed and Oh, being superficial, stereotypical and polar opposites yet best friends(never been done before).


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Happiness review

Posted : 4 years, 5 months ago on 18 May 2013 07:29 (A review of Happiness)

Happiness(1998) explores the pretense of the optimistic existence all human beings yearn or think they will achieve if they pursue it hard enough. All the characters in this film are trapped and unaccompanied or as Bill Maplewood the pedophile psychiatrist puts it “we're all alone”. However, at the same time they are all connected skilfully in this photograph of separation, the poster really captures the essence of this. The ensemble cast is one of the best I've ever seen, with some of the most unconventional thespians in Hollywood who come together to deliver a delicious depiction of the derelict condition of happiness. Definitely a must see if your on a dreadful movie run or in demand of any self inspection, because what this film really does is to entertain the notion that we are all these characters, we all have strands of repulsion inside but some of us just know how to suppress said strands. Happiness manages to blend the emotions of disgust, empathy, kinship and humor all in one, a dark comedy at its finest. I couldn't help but to burst out in laughter when one of the characters declared herself, “really happy”, because her inclination to hide her pain was so relatable, no one in this movie/world genuinely cares about another person's anguish. 8/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block